Vietnam Day 3 - Reisverslag uit Ho Chi Minhstad, Vietnam van Duyen Vu - WaarBenJij.nu Vietnam Day 3 - Reisverslag uit Ho Chi Minhstad, Vietnam van Duyen Vu - WaarBenJij.nu

Vietnam Day 3

Door: Duyen Vu

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Duyen

25 April 2016 | Vietnam, Ho Chi Minhstad

Day 3:

Today I woke up around 7 in the morning. It's pretty surprising that I keep waking up so early, because I normally wake up at 11 and go out of bed after 2. Here I've been a lot more active and I don't even mind the fact that I have a lot less sleep. The Vietnamese are very active in the morning. I start hearing people riding motorbikes past our house very early. There's always this man who cycles around with a speakerphone with this recording asking anyone if they want bread. The sounds on the street early in the morning woke me up quickly.

When going to The Hamptons Ho Tram, where I'm doing my internship, my cousin introduced me to his colleague who would be my supervisor and tell me what to do throughout the week. He quickly got started and told me what I would be doing this coming week. Basically I'll just have to keep the whole building tidy for guests and help the receptionist when needed. I spent the day walking around the building, checking everything to make sure it looks perfect, taking care of the flower arrangements, cleaning the kitchen, refilling air purifiers, cutting out and putting stamps on lucky draw cards and some more. I think that about a third of the time, I didn't have to do anything. Although I know they went quite easy on me, it was still hard for me because I have never experienced working in an office. They also tell you what to do less detailed than I'm used to, so I had to spend some time getting used to the atmosphere.

What I really could notice very clearly, is the people's professionalism. In the office, everyone is very concentrated on working. The people are hard-working and driven to do well. When it was lunch time, most of the people, including me, went to this restaurant where we ate lots of food. When the workers got out of the building, the atmosphere suddenly was a lot more relaxed, the people were all joking and I noticed that they all were good friends. The difference between the people's behaviour in and outside of the office is massive. This only shows how professional they can be when they want to.

One big thing is that my Vietnamese isn't the best, because I normally only speak it at home. But even then I tend to use many Dutch words in my Vietnamese sentences. The fact that I can't speak Vietnamese that well, can become a barrier when trying to help people. Everyone can speak English, but for them Vietnamese is preferred so I try my best.

After I got home, we went swimming in this local swimming pool. This tired me out a lot, so when family came over I fell asleep while they were right in front of me.

I suddenly woke up with 6 mosquito bites. Nice! There weren't any the previous days, but they suddenly appeared.

Overall today was very tiring, but I gained some experience and had fun, so it was all worth it.

Tags: VIetnam, Stage

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Vietnam, Ho Chi Minhstad

Vietnam 2016

Buitenlandse stage voor school.

Recente Reisverslagen:

07 Mei 2016

Vietnam Day 14

05 Mei 2016

Vietnam Day 13

04 Mei 2016

Vietnam Day 12

03 Mei 2016

Vietnam Day 11

02 Mei 2016

Vietnam Day 10
Duyen

Actief sinds 05 April 2016
Verslag gelezen: 148
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3560

Voorgaande reizen:

22 April 2016 - 07 Mei 2016

Vietnam 2016

Landen bezocht: